PURPOSE DRIVEN LIFE (Part 1)

PURPOSE DRIVEN LIFE (Part 1)

PURPOSE DRIVEN LIFE (Part 1)

PURPOSE DRIVEN LIFE

Chapter 1 Summary

WHAT ON EARTH AM I HERE FOR?

A few years ago, I Ajeigbe John Oluwaseyi was borne to this world by Pastor & (Late) Mrs. Emmanuel Ajeigbe. I am not a mistake, it is very conspicuous that I was sent to this world on a mission that I must to accomplish it. When I was a kid, I was known for one thing which was preaching the word of God. I could remember vividly how I did correct my peers whenever they erred, I would quote scriptures and talk to them. In fact, my favorite scripture then John 3:16, perhaps because I bear John? (smiles) Maybe but some things started to happen when I was growing up. As I was growing up, my knowledge of good and evil was also growing but there’s this conscience that chastises me each time I do something wrong, that alone made me believe that it is not just about me, what I want, what I need, how I wanna live my life but rather, it is what God wants for my life.

For everything, absolutely everything above and below, visible and invisible, got started in him and find its purpose in him (Colossians 1:16). It is often said that when the purpose of a thing is unknown, then the abuse is inevitable. A lot of people who are living a riotous and reckless today fail to know and understand the purpose for their being, they fail to understand the factual fact that they are nothing but a product and that there is someone who created them, someone who molded them, someone who manufactured them, THE ALPHA and THE OMEGA! THE GOD of THREE in ONE! Then I know that I was made by God and for God, failure to understand this, life will never make sense because focusing on ourselves will never reveal our life’s purpose. It all starts and ends with GOD!

I got to understand that whatever that happens to me in life, I am not an accident, my birth was not a mistake or mishap and my life is no fluke of nature. So, the same thing is applicable to whoever that is reading this that you are not an accident, your birth is not a mistake. Isaiah 44: 2 says “I am your creator. You were in my cave even before you were born”. This is God speaking to you and me, this is the God who loves us even before the foundation of the world, long before you and I were conceived by our parents, we were conceived in the mind of God. So, come what may always have it at the back of your mind that there’s but one GOD who created you!

The greatest tragedy in life is not death but Life, that is Life that fails to fulfill its purpose and potential — Dr. Myles Munroe. I got to understand that nothing matters more than knowing God’s purposes for your life, and nothing can compensate for not knowing them. A life without God is a purposeless life, a life without purpose is haggard and hazardous life. What drives your life? What drives my life? So many people are driven by guilt, some are driven by resentment and anger, some by materialism and some are driven by the need for approval. Knowing your purpose gives meaning to your life, knowing your purpose simplifies your life, knowing your purpose motivates your life, knowing your purpose prepares you for eternity. Remember, you are here for just a limited time and that time will come to an end one day!

Made to last forever! This life is preparation for next. God has planted eternity in the human heart — Ecclesiastes 3:11. When you fully comprehend that there’s is more to life than just here and now, and you realize that life is just preparation for eternity, you will begin to live differently. You will start living in light of eternity, and that will color how you handle every relationship, task, and circumstance. I got to understand that time on earth is nothing but a small parenthesis in eternity.

Do not conform yourselves to the standards of this world, but let God transform you inwardly by a complete change of your mind. Then you will be able to know the will of God — Romans 12:2. Seeing life from God’s view. I got to understand that the Bible offers three metaphors that teach us God’s view of life. Life is a test, life is a trust and life is a temporary assignment. These ideas are the foundation of purpose-driven living. I also got to know that life is a test and a trust, and the more God gives you, the more responsible he expects you to be.

Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered and that my life is fleeing away — Psalm 39:4. Life is a temporary Assignment, my identity is in eternity, and my homeland is heaven. Earth is not our final home, we were created for something much better. I remember when my Mother passed on, her last statement was “ I want to go and rest ”. We should not fix our eyes on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. The question is, When will you start preparing for your eternal home? Are am I prepared? Are you prepared?

Everything comes from God alone. Everything lives by his power, and everything is for his glory — Romans 11:36. God is the reason for everything because everything starts with him and ends with him. I got to understand that living for God’s glory is the greatest achievement we can accomplish with our lives, when anything in creation fulfills its purpose, it brings glory to God. How can I bring glory to God?

  • We bring glory to God by worshiping him. This is our first responsibility to God because God dwells in the place of worship.
  • We bring God glory by loving other believers and even sinners. It is our responsibility to learn as God does, because God is love, and it honors him.
  • We bring God glory by becoming like Christ. Philippians 2:5 says let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus.
  • We bring God glory by serving others with our gifts. This part made me understand the power of service. Each of us was uniquely designed by God with Talents, Gifts, Skills, and abilities. Let us use our God’s given gift and skills to transform our nation and communities.
  • We bring God glory by telling others about him. Let us go into the world and tell people about God’s love for humanity, he doesn’t want anyone to perish.

I will end this article with a poem by Russell Kelfer:

You are who you are for a reason.

You’re part of an intricate plan.

You’re precious and perfect unique design.

Called God’s special woman or man.

You look like you look for a reason.

Our God made no mistake.

He knit you together within the womb.

You’re just what he wanted to make.

The parents you had were the ones he chose,

And no matter how you may feel,

They were custom-designed with God’s plan in mind,

And they bear the Master’s seal.